Founded in 1962, the CIHEAM is a Mediterranean intergovernmental organisation devoted to the sustainable development of agriculture and fisheries, food and nutrition security and rural and coastal areas.

It is composed of  13 member States (Albania, Algeria, Egypt, France, Greece, Italy, Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, Portugal, Spain, Tunisia and Turkey) and operates through its 4 Institutes based in Bari (Italy), Chania (Greece), Montpellier (France) and Zaragoza (Spain) and the Headquarters based in Paris.

The CIHEAM collaborates with several international and regional organisations.

Texts of Constitution of the CIHEAM

Mohammed SADIKI is the President of the CIHEAM Governing Board and Plàcido PLAZA the Secretary-General


We believe in a UNITED MEDITERRANEAN where the sustainable development of agriculture, food security and territorial cohesion are the seeds of social stability and inclusive growth.

We promote MULTILATERAL COOPERATION through specialised training, networked research, scientific diplomacy and political partnerships.

We contribute to REGIONAL STABILITY, food and nutrition security, health of populations, the protection of the environment and increased access to the job market of youth.

We strongly believe in INTERCULTURAL DIALOGUE and DIVERSITY. Several nationalities and religions coexist within the CIHEAM.

We believe in KNOWLEDGE SHARING and the enhancement of links between knowledge and development needs.

We promote POLITICAL DIALOGUE through the organisation of meetings of the Agricultural Ministries of our member States.

We develop our actions within an ACCOUNTABILITY framework and implement them through a result-based management approach.

For further information: CIHEAM Strategic Agenda CAPMED 2025



Governing Board

Consisting of one representative from each of the 13 member States, the Governing Board is the managing and decision-making body.
Representatives of the OECD and the Council of Europe sit ex officio on the Board in an advisory capacity.
The President is elected by a 2/3 majority for a period of 4 years. He is assisted by Vice-Presidents elected for the same period through the same voting procedure


President of the Governing Board


Mr Mohammed SADIKI 



Vice Presidents and Delegates


Mrs Saida Zouggar



Mrs Valérie Baduel




Mr Charalambos Kasimis (Greece)


Mr Teodoro Miano







Mr Mohamed Soliman 








Mr Justin ZAHRA











Mrs Maria José Hernández Mendoza




Mr Mahmoud Elies HAMZA






The Headquarters

Based in Paris, the Headquarters coordinate, facilitate and implement the actions conducted by the different bodies of the CIHEAM.

The Mediterranean Agronomic Institutes

The 4 Institutes CIHEAM-Bari, CIHEAM-Chania, CIHEAM-Montpellier, and CIHEAM-Zaragoza conduct most of the CIHEAM's educational, research and cooperation activities.

Advisory Board

It consists of a number of eminent figures appointed for a period of 4 years by the Governing Board. They are "chosen, in particular, from among members of establishments for higher education in agriculture and of agricultural research institutes" (article 5.1 of the 1962 Agreement). It gives its advice on issues submitted by the Governing Board.

Advisory Board members elected during the 141st Governing Board meeting of the Organisation (December 2018) : 

  • President of the Advisory Board: Mr PAPADOPOULOS Apostolos (Harokopio University of Athens, Greece)
  • Mrs SINFORT Carole (Montpellier SupAgro, France)
  • Mrs GHAOUTI Lamiae (Hassan II Institute of Agronomy and Veterinary Medicine, Morocco)
  • Mr MALORGIO Giulio (Universita di Bologna, Italy)
  • Mr GARCIA AZCARATE Tomas (Institute of Economics, Geography and Demography, Spain)
  • Mr ABDEL-HAMID Maher Abdel-Mohsen (Cairo University, Faculty of Agriculture, Soil Science Department, Egypt)
  • Mr SENSOY Suat (Yuzuncu Yil University, Turkey)



It all began in 1962...

Over the last five decades, our Organisation has been striving to foster stronger mutilateral cooperation in the Mediterranean. 
Since 1962, we strive to bring people and ideas together.